The volunteer planting programme restores native forest to designated areas of the Port Hills. Volunteers plant native trees each winter and maintain them in spring and autumn to reduce competition from grass.

Port Hills volunteer planting; photo Neil MacBeth. Post-fire planting days

There are 12 public planting days to replant three burnt restoration sites. 

Numbers of volunteers at each planting day will be limited to 80.

Note: As of Monday 29 May eight of the remaining 10 plantings are fully booked - see table below.

Venues

Meet at Princess Margaret Hospital at 8.45am for morning events and 12.15pm for afternoon events.

Volunteers will be transported by bus to the planting sites for free thanks to the support of Environment Canterbury.  

  • Mt Ada - this site is the most suitable for families with young children (8 or younger) to attend. We prefer families to attend one of these three sessions: Sat 10 June, 24 June or 5 August.
  • Kennedys Bush - there is a ten minute down-hill walk into the planting site and a 15min uphill walk back out so a reasonable level of fitness is recommended.
  • Marleys Hill - this site includes some steep terrain.

Register

Register on your preferred date for a seat on the bus via Eventfinda (external link) .

Please check back for postponement notifications; these will be posted here by 3pm the day before an event.

What to bring

  • Clothes for all weather, sun hat or woolly hat
  • Sturdy boots
  • Gloves and a clearly-named spade (some will be provided).

For any queries, please contact Ranger Di Carter, di.carter@ccc.govt.nz 

Dates

Date Time Location Postponement date
Saturday 10 June
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Mt Ada Sunday 11 June
Wednesday 14 June
LIMITED TICKETS
8.45am to 12.15pm Kennedys Bush Wednesday 21 June 
Saturday 17 June
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Kennedys Bush Sunday 18 June
Thursday 22 June
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Marleys Hill Friday 23 June
Saturday 24 June
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Marleys Hill Sunday 25 June
Thursday 29 June
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Mt Ada Friday 30 June
Saturday 1 July
FULLY BOOKED
8.45am to 12.15pm Kennedys Bush Saturday 8 July
Saturday 15 July
FULLY BOOKED
8.45am to 12.15pm Mt Ada Saturday 22 July 
Saturday 29 July
LIMITED TICKETS
8.45am to 12.15pm Marleys Hill Saturday 5 August
Saturday 5 August
FULLY BOOKED
12.15pm to 4pm Mt Ada Saturday 12 August

Spring maintenance days

Bring a friend to 'free a tree' from weeds. Maintenance is the most critical part of ecological restoration success. Without regular maintenance for the first three years, plants wouldn't survive due to grass competition.

Date Time Location Where to meet
7 October 1pm to 3pm Marleys Hill Top of Worsleys Rd (off Summit Rd, west of Sign of the Kiwi)
14 October 1pm to 3pm Bowenvale Huntsbury Track entrance on Summit Road
28 October 1pm to 3pm Dry Bush Car park behind Victoria Park Visitor Centre
4 November 1pm to 3pm Eastside Bush Car park behind Victoria Park Visitor Centre

Contact

If you would like to receive a newsletter and reminder of events please contact Di Carter or e-mail di.carter@ccc.govt.nz.