These records are an account of the deliberations and resolutions adopted within official meetings. They can detail everyday concerns from residents or business people, particularly in the early period of our city.

Minute Books in the Council ArchiveThe Minute Books held within the archives are a major part of the collection and include Minute Books from the Christchurch City Council and former local authorities that have merged with Christchurch City Council since the first amalgamations began in 1903. These include, Avon Road Board, Linwood and New Brighton Borough Council, Riccarton Road Board and Borough Council, St Albans, Sumner, Sydenham, Spreydon and Woolston Borough Councils along with Lyttelton Borough Council and Banks Peninsula District Council who amalgamated with the City in 2005.

We hold minute books for the following:

Index Cards to Christchurch City Council Minute Books

Read the Minutes from the first meeting of the Council dated 3 March 1862, Sir John Hall was appointed the Council’s first Chairman:

Read the Minutes from the Committee Minute Book dated 9 June 1862 where the first street lighting was approved – 62 kerosene lamps:

Please note that there may be limitations placed on some parts of the collection – either due to restricted content or extreme fragility of the items. The Archivist will advise accordingly.